Register Become an Insider!
Rider - Zach Osborne  Back Back
Rider Zach Osborne
Team Mate Katsuaki Fujiwara    Max Biaggi    Kevin Curtain    Massimo Roccoli    Carlos Checa    Andrew Pitt    Norick Abe    Shinichi Nakatomi    Antonio Cairoli    Matteo Bonini    Davide Guarneri    Pierfrancesco Chili    Ivan Clementi    Troy Corser    Yukio Kagayama    Regis Laconi    Lorenzo Lanzi    Marco Borciani    Ruben Xaus    Karl Muggeridge    Max Neukirchner    Fonsi Nieto    Lucio Pedercini    Troy Bayliss    James Toseland    Chris Walker    Kai Borre Andersen    Matteo Baiocco    Stephane Chambon    Sebastien Charpentier    Michel Fabrizio    Javier Fores    David Forner Garcia    Robbin Harms    Craig Jones    Vesa Kallio    Tatu Lauslehto    Sebastien Le Grelle    Tomas Miksovsky    Johan Stigefelt    Tom Tunstall    Barry Veneman    William De Angelis    Vittorio Iannuzzo    Kenan Sofuoglu    Maxime Berger    Gregory Leblanc    Vladimir Ivanov    Jose Luis Cardoso    Christian Zaiser    Alex Barros    Mashel Al Naimi    Josh Coppins    Nicolas Aubin    Loic Napoleone    Enrique Rocamora    Lorenzo Alfonsi    Gianluca Nannelli    Miguel Praia    Alessandro Polita    David De Gea    Carl Nunn    Shaun Simpson    Daryl Bolter    Julien Enjolras    Garry McCoy    Chad Reed    Aigar Leok    Gianluca Vizziello    Chris Peris    Martin Barr    Helder Rodrigues    Makoto Tamada    Ricky Carmichael    Pere Riba    Naoki Matsudo    Dean Ellison    Ben Bostrom    Craig Coxhell    Dennis Verbruggen    Simone Sanna    Tommy Hill    Arie Vos    Andrea Antonelli    Sebastiano Zerbo    Bernat Martinez    Brendan Roberts    Collin Dugmore    Roman Jelen    Akira Narita    Kazamusa Masuda    Shinichi Kaga    Takeshi Koikeda    Shinobu Idehara    Kohij Ohkawara    Masaki Hiratsuka    Jaka Moze    Mark Jones    Neville Bradshaw    Yohei Kojima    Yuya Ozaki    Manabu Watanabe    Kouichi Fukaya    Martin Kohut    Ray Rowson    Pedro Enes    Fernando Ferreira    Mario Patrao    Alexandre Mendes    Raphael Andre    Andre Fernandes    Kornel Nemeth    Thomas Allier    Eero Remes    Dimitris Keramidas    Carl Van Niekerk    Liam O'Farrel    Karl Stegen    Richard Van der Westhuizen    Kyle Bowen    Anthony Nielsen    James Skinner    Shane Cuthbertson    Dan Watt    Robert Reed    Klade Glasgow    Guy Giroux    Nathan Kanney    Barry Rempel    Kelly Graffunder    Ian McKill    Vactav Bittman    Luka Nedog    Javier Hidalgo    Milos Cihak    Jiri Mirkyvka    Petr Cermak    Marek Svoboda    Berto Camlek    Pawel Szkopek    John Yates    Allan Lachapelle    Fred Hoess    Aaron Kopp    Jeff Fredette    Christopher Smith    Bryan Bolyard    Aaron Bernandez    Cyrille Coulon    Leon Camier    Jon Boy Lee    Stephane Duterne    Guy Sanders    Nick Henderson    Christian Beggi    Scott Columb    Marc Ristori    Matthias Walkner    Wayne Smith    Tom De Belder    Harry van Beek    Joan Veijer    Jarno Van der Marel    David Johnson    Gilles Boccolini    Rob van Vijfeijken    Amel Advokaat    Mike Kras    Tomi Peltola    Peter Podhorsky    Peter Katai    Rostislav Ondracka    Stefan Svitko    Jaroslav Katrinak    Zlatko Novosad    Juraj Dozsa    Gunther Knobloch    Stefan Nebel    Dominik Lammert    Gregory Eyries    Damien Miquel    Greg Evans    Benoit Calomine    Ivan Goi    Christophe Cogan    Joan Lascorz    Arne Tode    David Perret    Emeric Jonchiere    Olivier Depoorter    Raphael Chevre    Nathan Ramsey    Jakub Smrz    Yoann Tiberio    Nikola Milavanovic    Yves Polzer    Jesco Gunther    Gergo Talmacsi    Davide Giugliano    David Fuentes Old    Chris Seaton    J Greedy    Torbjorn Back    Mark Aitchison    Lorenzo Baroni    Aaron Zanotti    Miguel Duhamel    Akira Yanagawa    Nobuatsu Aoki    Evgeny Bobryshev    Josh Hill    Martin Macek    Michel Marchini    Jason Pridmore    Kim Irmgartz    Sofia Sjöberg    Shirley Verkade    Jenny Seidenberg    Sophia Paull    Britt Van der Wekken    Natascha Fransoo    Megan Lewis    Karin Adriaanse-Goetheer    Alexandra Haupt    Marko Leponiemi    Jakub Horak    Waclaw Skolarus    Eemeli Muraja    Olle Lothman    Jean Francois Goblet    Sandro Marcos    Andres Barbero    Daniel Fonoll    Rudy Cotton    Sebastian Adielsson    Antti Lehtonen    Xacob Agra    Hans Vogel    Jeremy Crowe    Tom Sykes    Arnaud Tonus    Wataru Yoshikawa    Luke Stapleford    Denis Bouan    Steve Rapp    David Fretigne    David Casteu    Gregory Di Carlo   

Zach Osborne will again be one of the very few riders representing the ‘stars and stripes’ in the FIM Motocross World Championship in 2012 for what will be his fifth season in Europe and on a YZ250F in the MX2-GP category. The Virginian will be 23 this year and therefore has 2012 and 2013 to conquer his dream of becoming the first American world champ this century (and since Bob Moore won for Yamaha in 1994).

Osborne’s aggressive and committed style means that his fearless riding is easy to spot. The former amateur ace and teenage prodigy arrived to Grand Prix racing midway through 2008, drafted in to assist the then Utag team’s (now the Dixon-led half of Monster Energy Yamaha) injury problems. Osborne hit the ground running by posting some decent results in the MX2 British Championship on the YZ250F and also forging good lap-times through the intimidating sandy bumps of Lommel for the Belgian Grand Prix. He was again quick in the Czech Republic soon afterwards and, unbelievably, a runway moto victory was then obtained on one of the trickiest tracks of the season at Fairyhouse in Dublin.

Signed up for a full FIM World Championship assault in 2009 he aced the Grand Prix of Turkey, round three, in Istanbul for his maiden success. Sadly the American’s first GP term was swiftly curtailed thanks to a fractured scaphoid at the following meeting in Portugal. Osborne completed his best professional term yet in 2010 in terms of results and steering clear of injury. ‘10 was a watershed, and a purple patch in the middle of the season saw three podiums obtained; one fittingly at Glen Helen, California for his home Grand Prix. He registered the best finish for an American in the FIM World Championship in ten years (fourth overall) and sealed the British Championship for his team – their first of the century – before heading back to South Carolina to begin a dedicated training programme for 2011.

The following year was again dogged by misfortune. More podiums results were celebrated – in France and Portugal – but Osborne was struggling with a wrist fracture from the US Grand Prix and a crash damaging his shoulder meant that he missed the last third of the campaign.

2012 begins with Osborne in Monster Energy colours and a busy early year programme with participation in four AMA West Coast Lites supercross meetings. The demands and timing of the discipline will surely assist the American in his pre-season preparation and he knows that the upcoming world championship with factory-backed material will be one of his best chances to mark a career-defining moment.

Date of Birth 25/09/1989 
Place of Birth Richmond, Virginia  
Nationality American 
Residence Whiteley, UK 
Height 175 cm 
Weight 75 kg 
Marital Status Single 
Hobbies Cycling, wakeboard, fishing 

2011: 8th MX2-GP World Championship (two podiums, injured)
2010: 4th MX2-GP World Championship, MX2 British Champion
2009: 23rd, MX2 World Championship (injured)
2008: 22nd, Motocross MX2 World Championship (part-time)
2007: 29th, AMA Motocross Lites / 17th, East Coast SX Lites
2006: 28th, East Coast SX Lites
2003: 3rd, Motocross Junior World Championship
 Results this season:
 Round Round Name Points Standing Total

Related Photos All Photos


Yamaha Motor Global | Disclaimer | Contact | Plug-ins | Bookmark | Sitemap | Find us on Google+ | RSS Feeds