You are about to leave this website. Are you sure?

I agree, take me there

Tough Night For Plessinger At Daytona Supercross

Tough Night For Plessinger At Daytona Supercross

On a track that was informally nicknamed “The Beast” due to its technical layout and sections that featured different kinds of dirt—loam, clay, and sand—Monster Energy Yamaha Factory Racing’s Aaron Plessinger crashed out in the early going of Saturday night’s 450SX Main Event at Daytona International Speedway in Daytona Beach, Florida.

With his teammate Justin Barcia still out of action while he recovers from a training crash suffered a couple of weeks ago, Plessinger was once again the lone representative for the Monster Energy Yamaha Factory Racing team.

After finishing seventh in heat race two, Plessinger lined up for the Main Event with hopes of getting a good start and being among the leaders. Instead, he was eighth out of the gate and had to play catch up, which ultimately led to him mistiming a massive rhythm section, landing hard on his feet and injuring his heel, which ended his night.

Plessinger was transported to the local hospital for evaluation; the team awaits further news on his condition.

The Monster Energy Yamaha Factory Racing Team is hoping to have Justin Barcia return to action next weekend for round 11 at Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis, Indiana, Saturday, March 16.

Jim Perry

Monster Energy Yamaha Factory Racing Team

Supercross is a tough sport, and tonight’s track was very unforgiving. Aaron has been making progress each week, so tonight’s crash is really a shame. Our main concern though is Aaron’s health and recovery. We will provide updates as soon as we get them.

Jim Perry

2019 Monster Energy AMA Supercross 450SX Daytona Results

1. Eli Tomac

2. Cooper Webb

3. Marvin Musquin

4. Blake Baggett

5. Joey Savatgy

6. Zach Osborne

7. Justin Hill

8. Ken Roczen

9. Justin Brayton

10. Chad Reed

DNF Aaron Plessinger

2019 Monster Energy AMA Supercross 450SX Championship Standings

1. Cooper Webb 222

2. Eli Tomac 203

3. Marvin Musquin 203

2. Ken Roczen 201

5. Blake Baggett 161

6. Dean Wilson 149

7. Chad Reed 137

8. Justin Brayton 113

9. Joey Savatgy 124

10. Aaron Plessinger 123