Riders and Teams

Monster Energy Yamaha Factory Racing SX 450 Team

Yamaha has long had a tradition of winning. From the early beginnings of Motocross and Supercross to the modern era, some of the sport’s biggest names have taken the title with Yamaha. Names like Broc Glover, Bob Hannah, Jeremy McGrath, Doug Henry, Chad Reed and James Stewart, all of whom not only added their names to the record books, but made their mark on their generation.

Fast forward to 2016, Yamaha’s successful partnership in road racing with Monster Energy was extended to their Supercross and Motocross effort. Supercross veteran Chad Reed put forth a valiant effort, scoring three podiums and finishing the year fifth. In 2017, Reed was joined by two-time Monster Energy Supercross 250SX Champion Cooper Webb, the pair scored a podium each.

With Reed’s departure in 2018, Justin Barcia joined the factory squad to fill in for injured rider, Davi Milsaps. What was meant to be a five-race deal turned into a full season after Barcia showed he was a title contender with three podium appearances. Unfortunately for Barcia, he too was sidelined with injury, but he returned late in the season to finish in the top-10 of the championship. In the outdoor season, Barcia ended the year fourth in the AMA Motocross points standings.

Barcia returns in 2019 ready to take the title for the Monster Energy/Yamaha Factory Racing team. Joining him is rookie Aaron Plessinger, who is fresh off of his dream season with the 250SX West Championship and AMA 250MX Championship.


Racing statistics:
AMA SX 450 Championship


Monster Energy Yamaha Factory Racing


Yamalube Yamaha Finance bLU cRU USA


KMC Pro Circuit Factory Effex


GET Dunlop Renthal GYTR Braking Cycra Vortex EK D.I.D. VP Racing TwinAir Motion Pro