Riders and Teams

Petronas Yamaha SRT

The SIC Racing Team project took its first steps in 2010 with the support of the Sepang International Circuit, a track that has been part of the MotoGP World Championship calendar since 1999. The structure was created with the aim of promoting young Malaysian riders and giving them a platform to develop their full potential.

The SIC Racing Team had a presence in various championships such as the FIM CEV and the MotoGP World Championship (in the 125cc and Moto3 classes), with three podium finishes in Moto3 between 2015 and 2016 as results of particular note. The Malaysian structure took another step forward with a move up to the Moto2 World Championship in the 2018 season.

The SIC Racing Team structure expands in 2019, this time joining the MotoGP World Championship as a Yamaha satellite team and giving Malaysia a team in the premier class for the first time in history. The team is represented by two young motivated riders, Franco Morbidelli and Fabio Quartararo. Both riders contest on board Yamaha YZR-M1s following an agreement between Sepang International Circuit and Yamaha Motor Co., Ltd.


Racing statistics:
Team Principal: Razlan Razali
Team Director: Johan Stigefelt
Team Manager: Wilco Zeelenberg

#21 Franco Morbidelli
Morbidelli’s crew chief: Ramon Forcada
Data engineer: Andy Griffith

#20 Fabio Quartararo
Quartararo’s crew chief: Diego Gubellini
Data engineer: Pablo Guillem




Yamaha Factory Racing Visit Malaysia Europe Energy Barracuda Sepang Circuit


Petronas Sprinta Sakura RCB Mata Astars Sport Travel MRA RK Takasago Chain Michelin