You are about to leave this website. Are you sure?

I agree, take me there

Yamaha YZ250FM

Yamaha YZ250F

As of 2020, the Monster Energy Yamaha Factory MX2 team has been using the works version of Yamaha's proven YZ250F, the YZ250FM. The YZ250FM  sets the standard for 250cc four-stroke competition motocross bikes. Yamaha Racing have been putting up the numbers on the YZ250F since 2001 and the bike has been praised for combining the broad-power profile of the four-stroke engine while maintaining the lighter, more maneuverable form of the smaller 125cc bikes.

The YZ250F has seen its share of exciting times in the MX2 category, but none more so than the 2005 season where Yamaha Riders’ Antonio Cairoli, Andrew McFarlane and Alessio Chiodi placed first, second and third in the championship riding the YZ250F.

With over a decade and a half of real world racing experience and a constantly evolving engineering philosophy behind it, a new generation of YZ250F was launched in 2018, complete with an electric start engine. Not only that, the overhauled YZ250F is narrower and more compact, and offers extra stability and control over rough terrain, which makes for better braking and even greater traction. The power delivery is more linear which means the bike has a smooth delivery of power and acceleration is optimized.

In 2021, the Monster Energy Yamaha Factory MX2 team looks to add to the YZ250F’s impressive legacy with all three riders manning the 'Factory' edition of the machine, the YZ250FM, inside the FIM MX2 World Championship.

Main titles:

2001 Ernesto Fonseca: – AMA-SX Lites West Coast Champion  
2002 Chad Reed: AMA-SX Lites East Coast Champion  
2004 Chad Reed: AMA-SX 250 Champion  
2005 Antonio Cairoli: MX2 World Champion  
2007 Antonio Cairoli: MX2 World Champion  
2008 Jason Lawrence: AMA-SX Lites West Coast Champion  
2009 Christophe Charlier: EMX250 Champion  
2012 Kiara Fontanesi: WMX Champion  
2012 Mel Pocock: EMX250 Champion  
2013 Kiara Fontanesi: WMX Champion  
2014 Kiara Fontanesi: WMX Champion  
2015 Kiara Fontanesi: WMX Champion  
2017 Kiara Fontanesi: WMX Champion  
2018 Kiara Fontanesi: WMX Champion