You are about to leave this website. Are you sure?

I agree, take me there

Monster Energy Yamaha Factory MXGP Team

Monster Energy Yamaha Factory MXGP Team

The 2020 FIM Motocross World Championship saw the formerly titled Wilvo Yamaha MXGP Team successfully step up to represent Yamaha at the highest level in motocross as the new Monster Energy Yamaha Factory MXGP Team. 

The team, led by Louis Vosters, has worked from the ground up to earn its place at the top of the Yamaha Racing MXGP pyramid. From humble beginnings representing Yamaha as a satellite MX2 team in 2016, the team had a management reshuffle going into 2017 and made the move up to the premier class.  

After a hard-fought first year in MXGP with riders Shaun Simpson and Arnaud Tonus, where Simpson was the only Yamaha rider to win a Grand Prix, the team retained both riders for 2018 and enhanced their efforts with a third rider in the form of two-time MX2 World Championship runner-up, Jeremy Seewer. 

2018 was Seewer’s first season in the premier class, and he finished eighth in the final classification as the best-placed rookie, while Simpson and Tonus suffered from injury.

In 2019, Seewer was drafted into the Monster Energy Yamaha Factory MXGP Team, formerly run by Yamaha legend Michele Rinaldi, while the Monster Energy Wilvo Yamaha MXGP Team lined up as one of the strongest teams in the paddock with the slick duo of Tonus and new recruit Gautier Paulin. Both Paulin and Tonus quickly became podium threats, accumulating 10 podium finishes in the first 12 rounds and challenging for a championship medal. Seewer went from strength to strength, making six podium appearances on his way to finishing the year as the MXGP series runner up, while Paulin fell 8-points short of the bronze medal and finished fourth. Tonus made a strong return to racing after a full year off and ended the 2019 season inside the top-five. 

In 2020, Seewer retained his ‘second in the world’ ranking with three impressive race wins, a maiden Grand Prix win and six podium finishes.

2021 saw the Monster Energy Yamaha Factory MXGP team welcome highly acclaimed Dutchman Glenn Coldenhoff to the fray, but was a difficult year racing amidst a pandemic with Coldenhoff working hard to adapt to a new bike, while Seewer suffered from Epstein-Barr Virus.

Despite the challenges, both Seewer and Coldenhoff proved their potential with Coldenhoff tying for victory at the MXGP of Italy while Seewer ended his season with a stunning Grand Prix win at 16th round of the series in Garda-Trentino.

Looking to build on the high points of 2021, the Monster Energy Yamaha Factory MXGP team are ready to challenge for Grand Prix and Championship wins with a potent line up made up of GP winners; Seewer and Coldenhoff, who will be joined on the gate of the premier class at the FIM Motocross World Championship by the reigning MX2 World Champion 'The Power Rookie' Maxime Renaux. .