You are about to leave this website. Are you sure?

I agree, take me there

Aegerter Victorious in Shortened Donington Park Opener

Aegerter Victorious in Shortened Donington Park Opener

Ten Kate Racing’s Dominique Aegerter secured his eighth FIM Supersport World Championship victory of the 2022 campaign, taking race one glory at a scorching Donington Park, finishing ahead of Evan Bro’s WorldSBK Team’s Lorenzo Baldassarri.

After a short delay, WorldSSP proceedings got underway over a shortened 18-lap battle, however, a crash for Peter Sebestyen, involving Spaniard Unai Orradre, brought out the red flag on the opening lap.  

After a lengthy wait, action resumed over a much-reduced 12-lap dash, with Aegerter starting from pole, once again.   

Launching into the lead at turn one, the Swiss rider found himself beaten up, in the opening stages, slipping to fourth position in the early stages. Meanwhile, a fast-starting Lorenzo Baldassari put himself in podium contention early on, before inheriting the lead on lap two as Niccoló Bulega crashed out.  

As the race settled down, Aegerter picked up the pace, working his way through to second as he looked to mount an attack on race leader Baldassarri. Following his championship rival intently, the 31-year-old made his move with five laps to go, taking the lead from the Italian at the Melbourne Loop.  

From there, the reigning champion didn’t look back, taking his eighth victory of the season and sees his championship lead grow to 59 points.  

A strong top-ten finish for GMT 94’s Andy Verdoia concluded a mixed affair for the team after Jules Cluzel suffered a nasty highside at the final corner. Meanwhile, VFT Yamaha’s Marcel Brenner rounded out the top ten.  

Leonardo Taccini made it a double points finish for the Ten Kate Racing team in 13th ahead of home rider Kyle Smith.  

After a race-long battle, Glenn van Straalen fell from his EAB Racing Yamaha R6 on the final lap, highsiding at the Fogarty Esses.  

World Supersport action continues on Sunday with race two, with lights out at an earlier 12:30 local time.