You are about to leave this website. Are you sure?

I agree, take me there

Delgado wins Stock title in YXZ1000R Spain Cup at Baja Aragón

Delgado wins Stock title in YXZ1000R Spain Cup at Baja Aragón

The Yamaha YXZ1000R Spain Cup returned to action last weekend for Round 4 at Baja Aragón on 27-28 July. The side-by-sides delivered another round of thrilling off-road racing that saw Pedro Delgado crowned champion in the Stock category after a dominant 2019 campaign.

Held alongside the Spanish All-Terrain Rally Championship (CERTT) the round was split into two stages of 165 Km and 86 Km each day including special stages. In total the racers covered 910 km, from which 500 km were timed. In the Stock category for unmodified YXZ1000Rs Pedro Delgado and Guifré Pujol made a sublime start and demonstrated incredible reliability and speed, and after a hard charging opening stint were the fastest team in the second stage.

From then they fought closely with Jordi Serra and Iván Cano, who lost their chance at a podium after retiring in the last timed section. Delgado and Pujol remained unbeatable and took their fourth win and secured the title with two rounds to go. Joining the victors on the podium were by rookies Víctor Grasa and Manuel Navarro in second, and Edesio Camaño and David Conde in third.

Setting leading pace from the start, Open class racers José Luis García and Xevi Moreno led the field from stage one. The pair delivered a consistently strong pace and were the quickest Yamaha team in three of the four special stages, and secured a heard-earned fourth place finish in the CERTT Buggies Nacionales. They took a commanding victory in the Open class and moved closer to claiming the category title with just two Spanish rounds left. Behind the winners, Yago Prado and Álvaro Moya took second place and kept themselves as the only other competitors in contention for the title, with Juan López and José A. Álvarez in third after a determined performance.

As in all rounds of the 2019 season, winners of the Stock and Open categories of Baja Aragón were awarded a free registration for the next race in the Yamaha YXZ1000R Spain Cup, which will be the Baja TT Guadalajara on September 20 - 21.

The big prize for the new Stock category champions is automatic entry in the YXZ1000R SuperFinale on 26-28 October at the Baja Portalegre in Portugal. The SuperFinale brings together the best racers from all countries taking part in the YXZ1000R European Cup and promises to deliver a thrilling weekend of side-by-side action.

Competitors can now register for the SuperFinale by visiting Stock category overall standings

1. Pedro Delgado – Guifré Pujol, 250 points

2. Edesio Caamaño – David Conde, 150 points

3. Rafa Villanueva – Javier Prieto, 102 points

4. Víctor Grasa – Manuel Navarro, 84 points

5. Ramón Vidal – Iulian Agache, 64 points

6. Gustavo Sosa – Rogelio Peñate, 36 points 

Open category overall standings

1. José Luis García – Xevi Moreno, 200 points

2. Yago de Prado – Álvaro Moya, 105 points

3. Juan López – José Antonio Álvarez, 97 points

4. Jordi Serra – Iván Cano, 81 points